No internet connection
  1. Home
  2. Support

Is there a way to delete/hide users?

By Christian Scheuer @chrscheuer2021-05-10 07:57:41.229Z

Hi @KajMagnus

We often end up creating test accounts in our internal team, and due to our SSO, they end up being created as users on the forum too.
Sometimes our customers think those test accounts are our real accounts and so start tagging them.

Is there a way for us to delete those test accounts in the forum, or at least hide their handles so they can't be tagged?

  • 4 replies
  1. C
    Christian Scheuer @chrscheuer2021-05-10 08:02:23.938Z

    The ideal for us I believe would be if there was a way to deactivate a handle so it can't be tagged.

    1. KajMagnus @KajMagnus2021-05-10 14:09:27.739Z

      Deactivating a handle — would the user still be able to log in? (Don't know if you'd like to log in as those test users?)

      Maybe those users should be excluded from an all-users list? — That'd make them in effect "invisible"? (unless they reply to other people's topics)

      I have in mind to add "invisible" users and groups:
      Just like some categories are visible, only for members of certain groups,
      some groups and users can then also be optionally "invisible", unless one is a member of a group that can see them.

      1. CChristian Scheuer @chrscheuer2021-05-10 15:31:36.557Z

        Yea I think they should still be able to log in.

        Sounds good with invisible users/groups as a plan too.

    2. In reply tochrscheuer:
      KajMagnus @KajMagnus2021-05-10 14:13:05.664Z2021-05-10 14:22:17.907Z

      You can delete a user, by going to his/her user profile page, then clicking Preferences | Account, scroll down to Danger Zone and click Delete account. Then the username gets changed to anon12345 or something like that and any name and email address etc gets erased. Any posts by that user are not deleted. That user will be unable to log in again.

      Here's the URL path to the Preferences | Account page: /-/users/ username /preferences/account.

      Hmm, thinking about invisible users (the sibling sub thread here), maybe such deleted users should be invisible (so ordinary members didn't see deleted anon12345 accounts in users lists).

      (Here's an a little bit, related sub thread about invisible users:
      Why does TalkYard's robot.txt exclude user profile pages? #post-5 )